Seema Mustafa elected as president of Editors Guild of India

New Delhi, October 17

Seema Mustafa, the Editor of The Citizen, has been elected as president of the Editors Guild of India, a statement by the top body of editorial leaders said Saturday.

The announcement came after the results of an online election held on October 16 were declared.

In the same election, Hardnews editor Sanjay Kapoor was elected as general secretary. Anant Nath, the Editor of The Caravan, was elected unopposed as Treasurer, the statement said.

Mustafa succeeds Shekhar Gupta, the Editor-in-Chief of ThePrint, while Kapoor and Nath will take over from A.K. Bhattacharya, the Editorial Director of Business Standard, and Sheela Bhatt, the Contributing Editor of, respectively.

In a departure from the usual practice of the office-bearers being appointed by consensus, an election was held for the posts this time. — PTI

Source From : Tribune India

Related posts

There is a free media in India: MEA on Chinese embassy’s Taiwan guidelines to journalists

Bharat Times Live

India pitches for devolution of powers by Lankan govt to minority Tamils in virtual bilateral summit

Bharat Times Live

Nepal uncooperative in managing floods: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

Bharat Times Live

Leave a Comment